1 2 aim

Dr Imelda de Groot Award

During the Duchenne Care Conference, taking place June 1-4 online, the Dr Imelda de Groot Award was announced. The Award was revealed by Elizabeth Vroom, chair of the World Duchenne Organization. The award aims to stimulate researchers and clinicians to develop activities in rehabilitation.

Annual award

The ‘Dr Imelda de Groot’ is annual award for a person, group or institution. It is awarded for the best project or achievement in the field of rehabilitation (in a broader sense) for Duchenne and Becker Muscular Dystrophy. This award is an initiative of the foundation Duchenne Parent Project, The Netherlands.

Pediatric rehabilitation specialist

Dr Imelda de Groot retired in April 2021 as a pediatric rehabilitation specialist at the Radboud University Medical Center. During her career she initiated innovative and relevant research projects in the field of Duchenne and Becker Muscular Dystrophy. Examples are ‘No use is disuse’ about exercise and physical activities, outcome measures and many other subjects.

Stimulate researchers and clinicians

The goal of the award is to stimulate researchers and clinicians to develop activities in this field. Candidates for this award can be nominated by Duchenne (and Becker) patient organizations around to globe. The winner of the award, selected by a jury existing of experts including patients, will receive € 10.000 to be spend on this type of research. The winner will be announced during World Duchenne Awareness Day on September 7th.

Extended deadline for nominations: August 1, 2021.

Nominations can be send to [email protected] and should include:

  • Full name if the organization (the nominator)
  • Website of the nominator
  • Email address of nominator
  • Nominators job title within the organization
  • What is your relation with nominee?
  • Name of nominee
  • Email address of nominee
  • Nominees employer: institution/company or other

Video with description of the project and the motivation why this project deserves to win this award.