1 2 aim

Announcing the Winner of the Dr. Imelda de Groot Award 2023

We are thrilled to announce the winner of the ‘Dr. Imelda de Groot Award’ for 2023. This annual accolade, initiated by the Duchenne Parent Project in the Netherlands, aims to inspire advancements in the care of individuals with Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD), with a particular focus on innovative projects. Dr. Imelda de Groot leads the jury in selecting the recipient, who not only gains recognition but also receives a grant of €10,000 to further their groundbreaking research.


Meet the 2023 Awardee: Prof. Marcela Camara Machado

This year, the ‘Dr. Imelda de Groot Award’ is presented to Prof. Marcela Camara Machado and her team for their work at the Neuromuscular Disease Outpatient Clinic of the Bahiana School of Medicine and Public Health in Salvador Bahia, Brazil. Check out why they won this award by watching the video.

About the Dr. Imelda de Groot Award

The ‘Dr. Imelda de Groot Award’ serves as an annual incentive to enhance the care for individuals with DMD, focusing on fostering innovative initiatives. Any professional involved in DMD care is eligible to apply for this award, with the support of patients’ organizations highly recommended during the application process.

Initiatives can include:

  • Implementation of new scientific findings in standard care
  • Exploration of the impact of new care treatments through pilot studies
  • Introduction of new sports and leisure initiatives
  • Development of care initiatives to enhance social participation
  • Exploration of emerging topics in clinical care

The award provides financial support to initiate or further develop projects aimed at improving DMD care.


About Dr. Imelda de Groot

Dr. Imelda de Groot is a retired pediatric rehabilitation specialist from the Radboud University Medical Center since April 2021. She has been a driving force behind research projects related to Duchenne and Becker Muscular Dystrophy. Her work includes projects such as ‘No use is disuse,’ focusing on exercise, physical activities, and outcome measures. The award named in her honor encourages researchers and clinicians to continue developing impactful activities in this field.